Members Annual Exhibition

March 3rd - 21st , 2015

The Cork Arts Society / Lavit Gallery was founded in 1963 by a group of artists, looking to exhibit their work and develop exhibition opportunities in Cork. Each year the members hold an exhibition of their work, in the Lavit Gallery on Father Mathew Street. Anyone can become a member of the Cork Arts Society on payment of a small annual subscription. Each year all members are invited to submit up to three pieces for selection for the annual exhibition at the Lavit Gallery. A different panel of selectors is chosen each year to select an exhibition from these submissions, with the panel usually comprising of two artists and a regular visitor to the gallery. This year 182 pieces were submitted to be exhibited, with over 70 of these being chosen for display.

The work of 62 artists will be on display. We are delighted to welcome back a host of familiar names and also happy to welcome and introduce a large number of newer members. A vast array of work will be on exhibition ranging from paintings, sculpture, photography, ceramics, and glass.

Exhibiting Artists: Patsy Atkinson, Jesus Barbado, Veronica Bolay, Anne A. Bologna, Laszlo Boros, Carol Breen, Joe Butler, Martha Cashman, Eoin Cassidy, Brigid Delahunty, Wendy Dison, Helen Doherty, Maria Dowling, Holly Draper, Felix Faulkner, Des Fitzgerald, Mary Gough, Kathrin Guenther, Jaclyn Hargreaves, Anne Hassett, Denis Keenan, Patricia Kickham, Raphael LLewellyn, Damaris Lysaght, Patrick Madden, Jim McCarthy, Anne McCarthy, Frank McGee, Frank McGrath, Gillian McKechnie, Maeve McManamon, Catherine McSweeney, Mícheal O'Muirthile, Una O' Brien, Colm O' Brien, Rita O' Connell, Mary O' Connor, Maureen O' Connor, Deirdre O' Donnell, Anastasia O' Donoghue Healy, Eva O' Connell*, Annemarie O' Donovan, Tadhg O' Scannaill, Mary O' Sullivan, Nuala O' Sullivan, Sheila O' Sullivan, Anne Patrick, Dee Pieters, Peg Quinlan, William Rattray, Constance Roberts, Dorothee Roberts, Jacinta Ryan, Bridget Ryan, Elizabeth Scannell, Kay Scully, Linda Sebo Cohu, Rosemary Taylor, Fiona Walsh, Sabine Weissbach, Michael Whelton and Peter Wolstenholme.

*This year, as a memorial to Eva O'Connell a founder of the gallery and a longstanding member who passed away during the year, we are delighted to exhibit three of her paintings in the show.

The exhibition will be officially opened on March 3rd by our Chairman Joe Burns at 8pm, and will run until March 21st.